dizzy-dame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi-ho, hi-ho. It's off to work I go.

Going back to work after a four day weekend, when it's rainy and colder than a polar bears ass outside, sucks.

Especially when there's a hot man still sleeping in your bed.

Bleah.

That is all.

7:03 AM - November 29, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is there a tree frog in here?

Greg: (Rolling over in bed.) �Mornin�.� *toot*

Dizzy: (Sitting up, and rubbing eyes.) �Mornin�.� *toot*

Greg: �The romance is definitely over.�

9:26 PM - November 23, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bon Appetit!

As you may have noticed, I've more or less disappeared for the last week. The thing is, InstaBoyfriend, who will now be known as Greg, came back from work a week early. So, I've been busy.

Really, really busy.

With graphic details you don't really need to know, but are probably very curious about anyway.

The man is adorable. He's also been blessed with incredible stamina.

I'm going to stop before I start gushing.

But, perhaps, one of his most impressive traits is his ability to cook. He also cleans the kitchen when he's done, which is more than I can say for myself.

He currently thinks I'm a lunatic, because I've been snapping pictures of him in the kitchen. He doesn't understand that I needed proof of this phenomenon. I had to have the proof.

See? It's impossible for me to resist this. Do you see what he's making there? Those are stuffed portabella mushrooms. I'll be eating those in a few minutes. And drooling like a rabid dog all the while.

I also had to snap a few pictures the other day, too. Because, frankly, it doesn't get any better than this. I always want to walk into my kitchen and be greeted with a sight like this:

And, of course, this:

Mmmm.

7:23 PM - November 11, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Civic duty completed.

I voted.

Did you?

6:39 PM - November 02, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because I'm still giddy.

How could I not be crazy about this adorably goofy face? How, I ask you?

8:57 PM - November 29, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Interesting new developments.

Ok, so I think it�s safe for me to elaborate without shoving my foot in my mouth. At least, I hope it is.

Bear with me. I�m about to go schoolgirl giddy.

I met someone.

Decent.

More than decent, actually.

I�ve had a lot of dud dates since I�ve moved up here. People who start off with a hint of promise, and then turn around and show me their contortionist abilities by shoving their heads up their asses. People who start off with no promise whatsoever, then freak out on me when I decline the offer for a second date. It was getting pretty discouraging. I don�t mind being single, and I certainly wasn�t looking for someone�s hip to attach myself to, but it would have been nice to have someone to hang out with on a more intimate level. I get lonely just like the next guy.

You following me? Good.

So, one night this guy messages me off of one of those dating sites some of us decide to swallow our pride and use. The same ones that have been procuring me all this hideous dud-dates.

He started off really nice, but over the course of the night a few things came up that almost put me completely off. A good part of it was an emerging shallowness in myself, something that I didn�t particularly like seeing myself do. And, it wasn�t about looks, because this guy is very attractive. It was something else that I don�t feel I have the liberty to discuss just yet. It�s very personal for him, and it�s something that he�s had to deal with his entire life. Something I now know has made him a stronger person, a very remarkable person.

Anyway, I agreed to go out with him one night, part of me thinking if I just had that one date, it would be easy to beg off of any others by saying there just wasn�t any chemistry. I wasn�t particularly thrilled with myself for taking that approach, it wasn�t very mature, and it certainly wasn�t a behavior I liked seeing in myself. But, I was going to do it anyway.

Imagine my surprise, when five minutes after he arrived at my door to pick me up, I was a goner.

I have never met anyone who gives off as much life as this man does. When I stepped out of my apartment, I could see him through the downstairs door, practically dancing around he was so animated. I could tell he was incredibly nervous about meeting me, he spent the entire evening grinning like an idiot. And blushing. He�d blush every time we made eye contact.

And despite that nervousness, there was also a level of comfort between us that I�ve never felt with anyone before. Something just clicked into place.

We had dinner, we went for coffee, we came back to my place and talked for another hour. When he got up to leave, insisting he go so I could get some sleep for work the next day, despite my protests, he gave me a hug. Me, acting in my usual impulsive manner, gave him a quick kiss goodnight.

He practically stumbled down the stairs on the way out, and had an incredibly difficult time getting that front door open to get out. All the while blushing beet red and grinning like a fool again.

That was it. I was hooked.

I had messages waiting for me the next morning, him saying in his very ineloquent way what a wonderful time he�d had. How he was really hoping he�d earned a second date.

That was Thursday.

Since he was leaving Saturday morning for a three-week trip for work, I asked him to come by Friday night after I got home from watching the kids for Franci and Aaron. We spent the evening on my hideously uncomfortable futon, talking, being silent, just curled up together. He ended up staying until just after five a.m., leaving with just enough time to get to the airport to catch his flight out.

He called from his layover in Cincinnati. He called again when he got to his job. And, he called again that night after Aislinn had gone to sleep, and we stayed on the phone for four hours.

He�s called every day since, whenever he has a moment. He�s even called a few times, knowing I won�t be home, just to say hi to my answering machine.

He called this morning at 5:30 a.m., just barely missing waking me up (I happened to be awake and trying to get back to sleep when he called), and keeping me from getting a whole extra hour of sleep. Somehow, it didn�t bother me in the slightest.

I�ve never really been one to desire the notion of that elusive creature, The Instant Boyfriend, but it would seem that I�ve found one.

And I couldn�t be happier about it.

8:28 PM - October 26, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trancejen
golfwidow
jynxed
sunnflower
weetabix
chubbychic
sundry
marn
naridu
idiot-milk
betenoire05
wicked-sezzy
tuff517
itsmylife
so-charming
emiline220
augustdreams
mommylap
aphrodite057
bafleyanne
sleepyzoe
preciousgift
wifemotherme
kungfukitten
justjones
dani-lou
xeran
klutzygirl
fuzzmom
meli-melo
passngstranj
ciggy-burn
lealoo
irishblueyes
nerryna
retailharlot
harvestbird
purplebanana
urbancadence
ladybug-red
macrocarpa
harri3tspy
arletterocks
galaxy
rapidal