dizzy-dame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 1: Operation Stop Smoking. Again.

It�s been 10 hours since I had a cigarette, and I�m already up to some foul bitchery. I fear that if my child does not cease and desist with her usual whining for cookies, more Care Bears movies, or cold hot dogs we will not survive the weekend.

2:17 PM - September 18, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Want.

These are so fucked up, I want every single one.

Just because.

8:56 PM - September 17, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The plot sickens.

I am now in possession of a Kansas learners permit.

Yes, I do feel roughly sixteen. Especially with everyone in the DMV asking me how old I was. Yeah, I know it's sad. You don't have to rub it in, fuckers.

Anyway, now that I can legally get in some practice time behind the wheel, it shouldn't be too much longer before I have the real deal. At which point, all you bastards better get off the sidewalk.

12:37 PM - September 17, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ivan the Terrible

As I�ve mentioned before, I have a lot of family in New Orleans. The last couple of days have consisted of a lot of worried phone calls from my mother, trying to decide whether or not she should stay in the city or try and evacuate, what with Ivan making his way to shore. Now, it�s currently looking like N�awlins will be spared a direct hit, but regardless, there�s going to be some serious rain and wind going on. Which means serious flooding and possible structural damage to some of the older houses.

Most of my family decided to evacuate. Several members went to Houston, and my mother, her boyfriend and my grandmother decided to go camp out at my dad�s place in northern Louisiana. He was gracious enough to extend his home to them, as almost every hotel in that part of the state, and a good deal of Texas, is booked. They left at 5 a.m. this morning, and arrived at 6:30 p.m.. That�s thirteen and a half hours to go 350 miles. Three adults. Two cats. In a truck. Mom also realized, after traveling for about eight hours (at which point they�d finally hit Baton Rouge, a one hour drive under normal circumstances), that she left two of the windows of her apartment partially open.

I can only imagine the fun.

Still, they�re safe and sound, and I�m relieved.

So, needless to say I�ve been glued to weather updates for the last two days. Yahoo put up an article earlier today which had me chewing my nails, thinking about everyone trying to get the fuck outta Dodge. Then I got to the bottom of the article, where an Alabama resident had this little pearl to share with the world at large:

Majestic live oaks that line many Mobile streets swayed in gusting winds as the port city of some 200,000 braced for a hurricane expected to be even more destructive than Frederic, which killed five people 25 years ago.

Mobile bar owner Lori Hunter said her business would remain closed "until the landlord takes the boards down off the windows."

"We're staying," she said. "I'm from New York. This is my first one. Terrorists scare me but not a hurricane."

You know, I realize that terrorists are scary. Terrifying, even. But, don�t laugh in the face of Mother Nature. She�s got one hell of a temper, and every now and then she gets a wild hair up her ass and decides to lay a whammy on you. I was fortunate, growing up, to never be in the direct path of a serious hurricane. But, I�ve suffered through the edges of several and that was bad enough, thank you very much.

Bravado won�t get you very far when the wind is battering away chunks of your home, and flood waters are trapping you inside. Honey, if that hurricane decides to hit where you live, it won�t give a flying fuck at a rolling donut if you�re from New York.

You�re just another sewer rat waiting to drown. Even terrorists are susceptible to the wrath of Mother Nature.

8:50 PM - September 15, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shuffle. Shuffle. Slump.

Another long, meandering day at work. I have become most disenchanted. I�m too tired (read: lazy) to bitch, so I�ll just leave it at that.

Time to haul my sad, sagging ass to the bathtub to be rejuvenated by white tea and jasmine scented bubbles. Calgon knock-off, take me away.

While I�m soaking, I need to come up with a brilliant plan to convince my child to go to sleep early tonight so I can watch a horror flick. I haven�t had a good scare in a while.

I should probably just go to bed, but when have I ever let logic and reason get in the way of my foibles? Surely there�s no point in starting now.

7:21 PM - September 15, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trancejen
golfwidow
jynxed
sunnflower
weetabix
chubbychic
sundry
marn
naridu
idiot-milk
betenoire05
wicked-sezzy
tuff517
itsmylife
so-charming
emiline220
augustdreams
mommylap
aphrodite057
bafleyanne
sleepyzoe
preciousgift
wifemotherme
kungfukitten
justjones
dani-lou
xeran
klutzygirl
fuzzmom
meli-melo
passngstranj
ciggy-burn
lealoo
irishblueyes
nerryna
retailharlot
harvestbird
purplebanana
urbancadence
ladybug-red
macrocarpa
harri3tspy
arletterocks
galaxy
rapidal